• Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size

CalvertHealth Foundation Celebrates 2018 Scholarship Recipients

The CalvertHealth Foundation recently awarded scholarships to 25 students pursuing higher education in an allied health or medical field. The students were honored in a ceremony held this summer. Since the program began in 1991, it has awarded more than 425 scholarships totaling $540,000 in student assistance.

Theresa Johnson, Executive Director for the Foundation, said, “Our 2018 scholarship recipients are a group of extraordinary individuals. We are proud to have such a diverse group of people interested in health care, some pursuing advancement in their careers and others who are in the beginning of their educational journey.” This year’s group included 23 students from Calvert County and two from St. Mary’s County. Although the majority of students are pursuing careers in nursing, others are working toward their educational goals in physical therapy and dentistry. Foundation Board Chair Lynette Entzian said,” The Foundation is proud to award more than $65,000 in scholarships this year to local students who have worked hard to earn this award.”

Among the recipients was Carleigh Bartholomew who gave a moving speech at the reception. Bartholomew, a graduate of Calvert High School, suffered a traumatic brain injury in the summer of 2016 when playing around with friends directly after her graduation. Following the accident Bartholomew went through a series of doctors’ appointments. She had difficulty remembering names and speaking simple phrases. After months of physical therapy and a will to succeed, Bartholomew has persevered. As she states, “It’s not always the cards you’re dealt, but how you play the hand.” Bartholomew has played her cards well. At the ceremony where students received their awards and accolades, Bartholomew stood before the group and spoke eloquently for a full 10 minutes whereas years before, she had trouble stringing together three words. Her experience inspired her to pursue an education in nursing at Stevenson University. She said, “By pursuing a degree in nursing, I will be able to help others. I was in that exact seat once as a patient; I can relate to the pains and emotions they’re feeling, that’s special.”

“Each one of our scholarship recipients has a story about what motivated them to enter into health care,” said Board Chair Lynette Entzian. “We are grateful and honored that each of you have chosen a career in the healthcare field. Your efforts, your innovation, and your hard work are to be celebrated and rewarded,” Entzian concluded.

The 2018 scholarship recipients are Carleigh Bartholomew , Stevenson University, Nursing; Taylor Bowen, York College of PA, Nursing; MaryBrooke Burval, University of Maryland, Baltimore, Medical Degree; McKenzie Copsey, College of Southern MD, Nursing; Amanda Curran, Stevenson University, Nursing; Adam Davis, Salus University, Pennsylvania College of Optometry, Doctor of Optometry; Elizabeth Duncan, College of Southern MD, Nursing; Erin Farley, Chamberlain College of Nursing, Masters in Nursing Leadership; Ashley Farrell, York College of PA, Nursing; Pamela Farrell, Salisbury University, Nursing; Martina Greene, College of Southern MD, Physical Therapist Assistant; Tara Grover, Salisbury University, Nursing; Leianna Haines, College of Southern MD, Nursing; Meagan Hance, Salisbury University, Nursing; Kaitlyn Hilgenberg, College of Southern MD, Nursing; Emily McGuigan, Keuka College, Occupational Therapy; Lara Roseto, University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine, Dentistry; Katherine Schleicher, Salisbury University, Nursing; Samantha Simms, College of Southern MD, Nursing; Kristina Sproul, Grand Canyon University, Nursing; Shelby Stockett, Stevenson University, Nursing; Josephine Trahan, College of Southern MD, Nursing; Danielle Weller-Roche, University of Phoenix Masters in Science of Nursing/ Education; Meghan Whittington, York College of PA, Nursing and Victoria Wolf, UMB School of Pharmacy, Pharm.D.

For more information, contact the Foundation office at 410.414.4570.

President and CEO Dean Teague; CalvertHealth Board of Director representative Terri Wolfley and Foundation Board of Trustees Lynette Entzian, Chair; Brian Martin, Brian Lazarchick, Mike Cox, Anne Marie Marcella and Lisa Garner, pose with this year’s scholarship recipients.
This record has been viewed 3941 times.


Be the first to leave a comment.

Leave your comment

CAPTCHA Validation